FridayWellness program
I often forget how fortunate I am to have free access to the gym – classes, equipment, and locker rooms – available to me via my employer.  Logic goes the more employees workout the healthier we will be, lowering our health insurance costs.  This is definitely a benefit I use frequently!
sporting one of the many “wellness” gifts we’ve received through the years.
SaturdayCades Cove run
Last week I told you about the Backyard Olympics.  This weekend I met up with the Knoxville Track Club Socialities for a run in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park followed by food and fellowship.  I ran with Kim for the first half, then took the back portion solo.  I’m one of those crazy runners who can’t decide if I like the solitude of running alone or the benefit of chatter that comes with company.  I had the best of both for this run.  I ended up going long and doing over 10 miles, the longest I’ve ran since April!
SundayKelly & Crew
My parents and I traveled to have lunch with my sister and pick up her rug-rats for the week.  As always, I very much enjoyed hanging out with her.  The Princess didn’t feel well the last time I saw her, but was back to her old self yesterday.  The Little Man is cuter than ever.
MondayDollar Hot Dog night
I met my parents and the kids at the TN Smokies game for $1 hot dog night.  Along with my handy-dandy refillable (for only $1) mug purchases at the beginning of the season, I had a pretty reasonably priced ball park dinner.
TuesdayGarden fresh produce

I enjoyed a delicious cantaloupe for breakfast as well as a green pepper (topping on my bagel pizza) – both courtesy of my father’s garden.

WednesdayFriends!

I’m very thankful for friends that I’ve had for the past decade.  Our group met at work (my first real post-college job) and made quick friends.  A decade later, 3 of the 4 of us have moved on.  We’ve probably traded thousands of emails over the years, and somehow we’ve made it work, despite having very little in common.

ThursdayOne last swim

I’m doing a triathlon this weekend, and Monday’s mini-tri was less than what I had hoped it to be.  “Suck-tastic” is a good word to describe my swim (my weakest of the 3 sports).  Today’s swim, however was everything Monday’s wasn’t – relaxing, reassuring, comfortable.  Feels good to have this one under my belt 2 days before race day.

What have you been thankful for this past week?

