Normally I do race reports for each of the races I complete.  In the case of the Double Dip, such a report isn’t needed.  I completed the 300 yard swim, went through the first transition only to learn I had a flat on the bike.  I had checked the tire pressure while unloading it from my car that morning, so I must have popped a tube.  Thankfully I had only ridden a 10th of a mile, so the walk of shame back to the transition area was very short.

This makes for my first ever DNF (did not finish).  My first DNS (did not start) was also a triathlon which I was forced to pull out of for health reasons.

Instead of a race report, I want to review the race and my training leading to it in order to better myself for the next time around.  And, yes, there will be a next time.  I considered never racing in a sport which mechanical failure meant personal failure.  After some much needed sleep I decided I wasn’t the kind of person to be okay with accepting failure. 

What I did well:

  • Spent enough time on my bike to learn the gears
  • Several long rides helped build my endurance and confidence
  • Bought a tri suit to make transition easier and over all race more comfortable
  • Arrived race morning in plenty of time to set everything up
  • Passed 2 people on the swim (also got passed by 1)
  • Have a cry, then move on!

To improve:

  • Be careful of the curbs!!
    I think the incident with the tire happened on my ride in to set up my transition area before the race.  Parking was quite the trek away, so I threw my bag over my shoulder and rode in.  Unfortunately, I hit the driveway curb too fast (there was a fairly big lip).  At the time I was concerned, but it didn’t immediately deflate so I went ahead with my set-up.
    In the prerace announcements the race director cautioned about the driveway exit, but I suspect at that point it was too late for me.
  • Learn to change a flat
    Some more competitive people have said they wouldn’t bother with changing the tube for a sprint race, but given I don’t even know how the choice was made for me.  I’ve decided its past time to learn how, and friend’s husband has volunteered to teach me.
  • More bricks
    I didn’t make it to the bike/run portion of the race, but I should have done more than just one brick before the big day.  This will be corrected in the next month before my next race.
  • Remember: Mechanical failure is NOT personal failureThis is true even if being more cautious I could have prevented the accident.  Never live in the world of woulda-shoulda-coulda.

How do you cope when life throws you a curve ball? (Or a flat tire?)

