Once again weight training screwed up my plans for the week.  I keep hoping my muscles will get adjusted and not be so sore, but it hasn’t happened yet.

Tuesday:

Planned – weights
Actual – weights

We started our new heavy lifting plan, including assisted pull-ups.  When these come back around, I think we need to try negative pull-ups to build up our strength.

Wednesday:

 Planned – Tabata/Social Run
Actual – Tabata/Social Run

Both of this were hard but good workouts.  I even killed the pace on the hilly social run course – its the best I’ve ran that section to date!  Very proud of this run.

HOWEVER (during?) after this run my oblique/rib area began to hurt.  I assumed it was sore muscles from two back to back strength days.  Heat and stretching to follow the next couple of days.

Thursday:

Planned – weights
Actual – walk

We were still sore from our weights workouts, so we changed this one to a walk.  Just a little something to get some fresh air and burn some calories

Friday:

Planned – rest
Actual – rest

Saturday:

Planned – 3 miles easy
Actual –  rest

Saturday was a super long day and I just didn’t have the time/energy to get this done.

Sunday:

Planned – 6-8 miles
Actual – rest

My running partner was ill and I was exhausted (and a bit hung over) from Saturday. 

Monday:

 Planned – 2 X 1600 @ 8:39-8:54 pace.
Actual – 2 X 1600 @ 8:32/8:35
Total mileage 4.25 with warm-up, recoveries, and cool down

The problem?  My rib still hurts.  I’m beginning to wonder if I pulled something or bruised it.  Twisting, sneezing, and touching it hurts.  I’m {thankfully} inexperienced with injury, but a quick web search has me confused.

At what point to I see a doctor?  An ortho or my general doctor?  Do I just need to suck it up?  Do I need to {heaven forbid} rest and not do much to aggravate it?  UGH!!!

