{the bombing} makes me feel scared and powerless

The above comment on a friend’s Facebook page earned me a lecture from my husband.

Fear is what they want you to feel.  You can’t be scared, if you are, they win.

While he’s right, I just can’t accept what he’s saying and move on.  Sometimes, despite myself, I am overwhelmed with fear. 


Today I make the choice – to allow the fear in, but only for 5 seconds.

1…

Earlier in the day, my BIL had called me with his buddy’s bib number so I could track his progress.  He’d already finished, but did his family linger at the finish line?

2…

My irrational fear of close quarters, of being in starting line corral and not being able to move should something happen?  That fear now seems justified.


3…


What does this mean for future races?  Will this happen again?
4…

What if this would have happened at Knoxville instead – where my husband, my cousin, his 2 year old son, and a friend were waiting at the finish line


5…










 

Rest in God alone, my soul, for my hope comes from Him.

Psalm 62:5 HCSB
