Yes ladies (and gents?) we’re going to talk about it today.  
You know.  It.
IT.
Please let me start this book review by saying I’m a prude through and through.  As in wear-my-suit-in-the-hot-tub at my house. In my side yard.  With my husband.  Where no neighbors can see us.
So when my Once Upon the Internet friend Marla Taviano offered a free copy of her book in exchange for a review, I hesitated.  What if someone sees me reading it?  I don’t want anyone to get the wrong idea or anything.

I mean for goodness sake – the book came wrapped in brown paper packaging! 😉 

I found parts of this book embarrassing but that’s probably more a commentary of myself, rather than the sections in question.
Taviano doesn’t take herself too seriously, which is something I love about her writing style (this book included). She never comes across as holier (or sexier in this case) than thou, but rather a work-in-progress muddling through like the rest of us.

The book’s primary theme (sex aside) is selflessness – something I’m prone to buck against. She hits the reader with some challenging material, while maintaining an easy-to-read format.  Some of her points didn’t sit well with me.  Not sure if its because I disagree, or because she’s right and I just don’t want to admit it.

Her best piece of advice (in my opinion) – PRAY.  Seriously.  About IT, about marriage, about your relationship, about everything.  I took this piece of advice early in the week – big surprise – it actually worked. 

The prayer went something like this “God – I don’t like my husband very much right now.  Could you do something about that?”  I came home to a hubby who (despite having a full/stressful day) greeted me with his good mood.  The mood became infectious.  I ended the day adding a couple of different things he did to my thankful list.

And no “IT” didn’t have anything to do with the mood. 

Bottom line: I consider Taviano a marriage mentor, despite the face she and I have never met in real life.

