This week we – like a good portion of the country – have had severe winter weather. Of course living in the south-east, please know that our severe is different than those living in the New England area. However, considering our roads (hilly, curvy, and with steep hillside banks) and minimal snow fighting power (plows, salt, and such) a layer of ice topped with snow really does debilitate our area.

I am incredibly thankful that, unlike many in the area, Jay and I never went without power. We do have an alternate heat source, but I’m so glad we’ve only used the fire place for ambiance and enjoyment this winter.

BUT

Yesterday morning, I awoke to every germaphobes nightmare – our pipes were frozen. Last year, we had a landscaping sprinkler (which we didn’t even know we had, much less known to winterize) exploded and made us water-less for a day. In the process, we added insulation and an electric heat strip.

So when the temps threatened to dip below zero (farienheight), we thought we were covered.

WE
THOUGHT
WRONG.

StreamToday is day 2 without water. Day one wasn’t very difficult. I had water in the Keurig, so my coffee experience wasn’t compromised. I headed to work, same as always. After work, I ran on the treadmill and showered at the gym before going home. Taco Bell for dinner meant no dishes to linger in the sink while we waited for water.

Looks like my 5 minutes of free-writing is up. Perhaps I’ll do both Stream of Consciousness Saturday AND Sunday this week. Linking up with Jaime, and I can’t wait to read your posts!!

