Turning the blog over once again to a couple of ladies who offered to share their thoughts on surviving the holiday season. I hope you can find a blessing in what they have to share.

edited-feature

LIZ:

Instead of her story or traditional advice, Liz provided me with 2 recipes which help her holiday be a bit more cheerful.

1 part old family holiday photos
1 part cheerful company
1 part cocktail – optional

Combine ingredients and enjoy through out the season.


2 shots pear vodka
1 shot triple sec
Lime juice
Cranberry juice

Coat the rim of a high ball glass with lime juice. Add shots, ice, and fill the remainder of the glass with juice.

Liz is a good friend of mine, who I have never met. We first encountered one another over a decade ago on a message board for the TV show Lost. Since then our friendship has grown deeper. I can’t wait until we finally get to chat in real life.

ANDREA
Crying Over Crushed Cookies

Holidays, while living overseas, were hard. Being in a foreign country, nothing was familiar. I craved anything that transported me home. I remember finding a certain type of holiday cookie that I loved and was overjoyed with God’s provision. I saved them for a rainy day.

The “rainy day” came. I realized that our part-time cleaning lady had organized the pantry and found a VERY small corner for my prized cookies. They were crushed. I held my bag of crumbs and tears flowed. I felt ridiculous for crying over cookies but my heart was crushed along with them. What God had provided, another had destroyed. Isn’t that what we experience so often in life?

edited-tree

I learned a lesson that would prove beneficial in the many hard days ahead – there is always something to be grateful for. God always provides. And crushed cookies still taste good.

Let them give thanks to the LORD … for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things. Psalm 107: 8–9

Andrea Stunz writes at http://www.emptyplatefullheart.com.

The final days before Christmas are upon us. I pray you find the joy of the season in some way, and that it would carry over into the new year.

 

 

