For Valentine’s Day, Jay and I headed into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to log some more miles on our quest to earn our Hike 100 pin. The pin is in honor of the 100th anniversary of the National Park system.

trail-sign-edited.jpg

Despite being my 4th hike of the year, this is the first hike Jay and I have done solo. I don’t get home from church until well after the noon hour, we had to pick a shorter hike.

The road to Little Greenbrier school is closed during the winter months, which added about a mile to our trek, but given the short distance from the school to the Walker Sisters’ cabin, we were glad for the extra time out on the trail.

jay-road-closed-edited

Our best conversations are often had in the park, and our Valentine’s hike proved to be no different. I chatted about my desire to earn a 100 mile pin for my I Run4 Siblings buddy, and considered the challenge of logging 200 miles by the first week of December.

Jay started cooking up a plan in his mind, and once we got back to the house he devoted several hours of his evening to committing said plan to a spreadsheet.

brooke-sisters-cabin

Official stats: 3.2 miles hike in 1 hour 10 minutes

Hikers present: Brooke & Jay

Trail rating: 7 out of 10 hiking poles

