What is my calling as a follower of Jesus? My Christian tradition would tell me 2 things aren’t in the pipeline for me – motherhood and foreign missions. One I don’t desire, the other God has closed the door on (for now).

In my head, I understand all believers are called to a mission field, the terrain just varies. Sometimes it means moving to foreign soil, other times God wants us to stay put and serve where we are.

As I write this, “where I am” just happens to currently be my local Chick-fil-a. The hostess just served me by taking my trash and tray. I was so caught up in myself, I didn’t even look her in the eye.

EDITED-mission-field.jpg

Mankind, He has told you what is good and what it is the LORD requires of you: to act justly, to love faithfulness, and to walk humbly with your God.

Micah 6:8 HCSB

This world holds so much pain and cruelty. Could my purpose really be to be polite to random people while I eat my lunch?

I’m uncertain. Part of me thinks this could be a righteous longing for God’s mercy in miraculous works. The other part of me wonders if my motives are so pure. Is this my prideful spirit, thinking I should be responsible for a weightier, or at the least more flashy work for God?

EDITED-polite-lunch

Furthermore, does this situation highlight my lack of faith? I want to serve by sight, knowing the result of the good works I’m doing. In my weakness, I need to see evidence I’m making a difference for Him.

The Bible reminds me faith which can be seen is not faith at all! How much courage would it take to live each day faithfully, trusting God to work as He wishes?

Now faith is the confidence in what we hope for and the assurance about what we do not see.

Hebrews 11:1 NIV

The God of Second Chances

Blessed are you, oh Lord! For opening my eyes to my mistake immediately. For giving me another shot at getting my interaction with this lady right.

I’m not conceited enough to think a 2-minute conversation with me changed her life, but I am thankful God presented me with a shot at redemption. This time, I looked her in the eye, offered a sincere “thank you” and wished her a good day.

How have you made yourself available to God, resulting in Him using you in a not-so-grand way? What little things have you done in His name this week?

