This past weekend, Jay and I got the privilege of loving our Cambodian neighbor, via an Ohio neighborhood. In the process, I met 3 cyber neighbors and celebrated my father-in-law’s 75 birthday.

While that all sound ambitious and adventurous, I feel the need for full disclosure. I’m currently blogging about said adventure because I have insomnia and the alternative is folding laundry. 

WAK Cambodian Neighbor

I’ve cyber-known Marla Taviano for years now. I have no recollection of how I happened upon her blog, but rather than accident I’m convinced our meeting was a divine appointment.

Her book From Blushing Bride to Wedded Wife helped me navigate those first few years of marriage. (She reworked it a few years ago and released it as an ebook as The Wife Life.) She also hosted several read alongs on her blog, choosing books by authors who challenge the standard American version of Christianity.

WAK Marla edited

The Tavianos moved from Columbus, Ohio to Siem Reap, Cambodia in 2014. If you haven’t had a chance to check out her blog, I encourage you to check it out. Theirs is an incredible story of learning to see the mission field around them, first in their back yard, then traveling across the globe.

For the past few years,  The Hard Places Community has held a fundraiser called Walk Against Traffick. The Columbus event took place the weekend after my father-in-law’s (who lives near Columbus) birthday. Add to that the Taviano family is currently state-side, and the walk was to benefit the center they run in Siem Reap. Who could pass up a perfect opportunity like that?

WAK Bib and Garmin

Walking 10 miles was the easy part! Asking family and friends for donations landed a little further out of my comfort zone. We managed to raise over $200, not including our entry fee or the purchase of the sweet event shirt (made in Cambodia by formerly the trafficked).

What my mind tells me:

Our meager contribution pales in comparison to missionaries like the Tavianos, and the work they do on a regular basis.

The truth:

12Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.
13 For we were all baptized by one Spirit so as to form one body—whether Jews or Gentiles, slave or free—and we were all given the one Spirit to drink.
14 Even so the body is not made up of one part but of many.
15 Now if the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body.
16 And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body.
17 If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be?
18 But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.
19 If they were all one part, where would the body be?
20 As it is, there are many parts, but one body.
1 Corinthians 12:12-20

Right now He has placed me right where He wants me and equipped me for the task. If that means spending time with my love, meeting friends, and getting in a bit of exercise, who am I to complain?

WAK 9 miles

How have you seen God at work in your life recently?

 

 

