While I realized I hadn’t written in awhile, I didn’t realize just how “a while” was quantified. Mari, a sweet blogger, who I’ve read since starting my first blog years ago, emailed me to make sure all is well in my corner of the world.

Of course, that was 3 weeks ago…

In the opening pages of The Must Have Guide to Blogging, author Kayla Aimee suggests finding a blog’s purpose is of foremost importance. What do I hope to get out of this space? What are my motivations on sharing words with the world-at-large (or small)?

I want genuineness. My desire for this space is to provide readers a place to say “me too,” and perhaps take away an idea they hadn’t thought of before. While I recognize “authenticity” to be a trendy buzz-word, it’s also a core value of who I am.

Currently, I’m reading an advanced copy of Ann Voskamp’s A Broken Way, as a member of her launch team. I want this blog to be a place where I can tell you how incredible the book is – not just so that I have other launch team opportunities, but also so others can experience the truth and beauty of the pages I read.

book-cover-frame-added

Over the next few weeks, I want to commit to exploring God’s truth in my life. I do this better when I think on paper, whether it pen-to-page or fingers-to-keys. He calls us to share with others, not hoard up treasures for ourselves. This is not to say that anything I write is a treasure, but it can certainly be used by Him to bring glory and honor to His name.

13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:13-16.

