Admittedly, I’m one of those annoying people who like to take to Facebook with 30 days of thankfulness when the calendar hits November. I know the practice has its detractors. Questions like “where is your gratitude the rest of the year?” and “Isn’t this just another way to brag about your life?”

Contentment isn’t a natural state of my heart. I first read Ann Voskamp’s 1000 Gifts precisely because I couldn’t see the blessings surrounding my everyday life. Forcing myself to write in the journal, and yes some days it was a chore, helped open my eyes to the beauty surrounding me.

difficult-seasons-scenry

I still struggle, of course. These days of autumn, watching the days get shorter, are particularly difficult for me.  My husband Jay can testify to my critical nature. Thankfully (tee hee, see what I did there?) he’s kind enough to never speak of it.

Finding faults, especially in myself, seems to be second nature. While some parts of our personality are gifts from God, others are downright sinful.  In Ephesians 4:22-24, Paul instructs Christians to

22 to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

For the month of November, I’m committing to share (either here or on my Facebook page) each day at least one thing I’m thankful for. Please join me as I strive to fix my eyes on the Provider every good and perfect gift.

What are you thankful for today?

