Back in January, I wrote an article titled “Persevering through Obstacles: Part 1.” Perhaps I shouldn’t have rushed to publish. Over the past 11 months, I’ve failed to persevere in writing parts 2+.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  Hebrews 12:1-3

Before this year, I would have claimed to excel at endurance. Using my running career as an example, I would point to all the time I’ve spent training and not giving up on myself. If I wanted to insist upon this truth, I would have to conveniently ignore my failed attempts to get my nutrition in line with my exercise.

runner-bridge-edited

This past weekend’s half marathon would also have to be overlooked. To paraphrase a once-popular weight loss show, the spreadsheet doesn’t lie. Perseverance isn’t completing my last training run (of any distance) a month before the race. Committed runners don’t expect that 8 miles will carry them through a race of 13.1.

And bloggers who want to write with any credibility on perseverance can’t have a delay of almost a year between blogs on the topic. See also: A writer who commits to posts full of thankfulness over the month of November, then drops the ball only 4 days in must rethink her dedication.

My goal is to take a 30 Days of Thankfulness prompt and make it into a series of posts for the week or so to come. I’d also like to write up an official race report of the Run Hard Lexington (SC) Half Marathon and formally thank everyone who ran “with” me during the race.

As I’ve established, I’m not great at follow-through, but I’m going to try. I’ve done step-one: setting a goal. Now to move on to step-two, finding friends to hold me accountable.

Do you have something you keep meaning to do, but haven’t been able to follow through on? Let me know how I can encourage you to keep on until the job is done.

 

