Should I decorate for Christmas?

I love how the lights brighten up my living room in an attempt to chase away the ever darkening evenings. The darkness creeps into my spirit, sucking the life out of me.

The pre-lit tree helps illuminate, representative of the coming of the Messiah. As John 8:12 recounts:

Then Jesus spoke to them again: “I am the light of the world. Anyone who follows Me will never walk in the darkness but will have the light of life.”

Are cheerful decorations disrespectful to those who continue to suffer from the wildfires?

This question gets a big “yes” from me as well. No judgment implied on those who answer this question differently, I just don’t feel glittery snowflakes appropriately reflect my mood this season.

Yes.jpg

Where does that leave me? I’m not really sure. Perhaps I’ll put up the tree, complete with the giant bow on top, but no ornaments. Then again, perhaps hanging bulbs and snowflakes might help this dismal attitude I’m carrying around.

Do you go all-out at Christmas? Or do you keep your decorations to a minimum?

 

 

