I mentioned at the end of last month my intent to join Living Proof Ministry’s Siesta Scripture Memory Team. So far I’m pleased with my progress. From the 1st to the 25th of January, I worked learning Philippians 4:6.

philippians-4-6

In the make-believe world where worry is a spiritual gift, I would be considered a guru. Anxiety isn’t a blessing, not even close. In fact, this scripture teaches its the exact opposite of what a Christian’s reaction should be.

I’m using the terms anxiety and worry interchangeably, on purpose. Yes, there are those of us who are genetically predisposed to anxiety and depression. They are real disorders which can be treated with medication, but as I experience them, they are still sinful.

For me, the distinction between nature and sin comes when I make a choice between God and something else. The following thought which may flash in my head isn’t necessarily sinful: I haven’t heard from Jay all day. Did he die in his sleep?

What I do with the thought, however, is the difference between obedience and rebellion. As the verse commands, taking our worries and submitting them to God is the first step in praying.

Praying doesn’t come naturally to me, so I can use all the help I can get! In an effort to seek that assistance, I decided to use Philippians 4:6 as my first memory verse.

One of the encouragers in my memory group recommended adding the following verse because fundamentally they are a matching set.  Who couldn’t use a bit more peace in her life?

philippians-4-7

I’d heard verse 7 enough to not find memorizing it difficult. Finishing up early, I used the remainder of the last two weeks of January to help mesh the verses together.

My only complaint is that I didn’t use the same background and fonts for my note cards.  Looking forward to what lies ahead (Philippians 3:13) I’m not going to go back and change them, but I will keep that in mind for the future.

I’m not only working on memory verses, but also on being more purposeful in prayer. Please let me know if you have an issue you’d like me to join you in prayer about. Feel free to leave it in the comments, or email me if you don’t want it out there for the world to see.

