Reading
A few weeks ago, I started and finished Lincoln’s Treasure by Chris Schultz in one afternoon. While Jay was doing yard work, I built a fire in our fire pit and settled in for the story. Part of the novel is set in Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and I enjoyed reading about familiar places as the backdrop for a treasure hunting mystery.

Chris and his wife live in our neighborhood, go to our church, and give Jay a ride to our weekly community trivia date. I’m so glad I enjoyed the book, otherwise, the “so, what’d ya think?” conversation would have been super awkward!

Currently March 2017

Running
I’ve gotten back to running regularly over the past few months, although I’m defining “regularly” a bit different these days. My goal is to run 2-3 days a week, weight train twice a week, and do yoga Wednesday night. Yoga is immediately following work, then I head straight to trivia (hence Jay needing a ride to not have two cars in town.)

Instead of music, I’ve been listening to Revelation Wellness podcasts on my runs (and during my lifting sessions.) Alisa Keaton, the ministry’s founder, provides options of endurance and interval workouts, and the podcasts include music in the background to her gospel teaching.

Watching
I’m not sure if I’m getting more particular in my old age, or the options on TV are going downhill, but it’s been awhile since I’ve been excited about a new show. Jay mostly controls the programming in the house – watching the news or sports on a regular basis. We rarely turn it on scripted programming.

Our DVR is set up to automatically record New Girl, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, and now, thanks to my niece, I’ve started recording Time After Time. She and my sister both enjoy the show (which has aired only 4 episodes at the time of this writing), and she suggested I try it. That is if I wasn’t too chicken.

The show has H.G. Wells chasing Jack the Ripper with a time machine into the future, so the taunt contains an air of authenticity. Especially given that I’ve stopped watching other network dramas because they are too intense (I’m looking at you Gotham.)

So far, I’ve only screamed once over the course of the 3 episodes I’ve seen. I do, however, get a bit suspicious that men I see on my lunchtime runs might be the “key killer” transplanted from NYC to east Tennessee. In short: she’s probably not wrong. I am a big chicken.

What are you into these days?

