Less than 3 months into the new year and I’ve already started slacking on my scripture memory work. When things get difficult and I feel as if I’m not enough, I’m prone to give up. Scripture reminds me to boast in my weakness, for:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me…

2 Corinthians 12:9

Of course, that’s not actually the verse I’ve been working on memorizing, but I could certainly benefit from putting in the rotation.

Much like my January verses, I decided to do split Romans 12:1-2 and learn them over the course of a month. These were verses suggested by Weigh Less to Feed More curriculum, but don’t just apply to those of us who are trying to be more thoughtful with food and exercise.

Romans121

I’m still stumbling through what this looks like. My brain equates service with an attempt to earn, so I don’t know how to go about action out of gratitude rather than duty. Romans 12:2 provides a bit of a hint:

Romans122 new

The only way I can be a living sacrifice is if I first allow God to remodel my mind. If I’m honest, we’re not talking about new curtains and throw pillows kinda work. Instead, we’re talking about a total renovation. Moldy thought patterns have to be uncovered and disposed of over. The new framework has to be installed before any fresh paint can be added.

Thankfully, God doesn’t want a complete demo and start over with a new build. After all, he’s the original contractor who built this house in the first place and the mess I’ve made of things doesn’t affect his original design.

Now to get away from metaphors and get to work with what this really looks like in my life. 

How is God working in your life to transforms old thought patterns and behaviors? I’d love to hear about the things he is making new in you!

