In Still Waiting: Hope for When God Doesn’t Give You What You Want: , author Ann Swindell beautifully weaves her own personal battle alongside the Biblical story of the bleeding woman in order to meet her readers in whatever season of waiting they find themselves. Swindell’s medical condition, trichotillomania, is rare enough that the reader doesn’t get caught up on the object of waiting.


Rather, as the author bears her heart and soul to the readers, she expertly designs her story, making it less a memoir and more a parable. Swindell focuses the attention on the one who heals, Jesus, and how to graciously wait without losing hope.

Waiting on the one

She takes what we know from the gospel accounts of the bleeding woman – found in Matthew 9:20-22, Mark 5:25-34, and Luke 8:43-48 – adds what we know would have been historically true for a woman in that era, and fictionalizes an account of what it might have been like for this woman.

Each chapter contains a bit of each woman’s story and a practical look at what can be done while waiting. My current experience with waiting is different from most women’s I know, but thanks to Swindell’s crafting, I found the ideas easy apply in my own situation. The same would have also been true for my 5 years of singleness between college and meeting my darling love.

Overall, this book is easy to read in word and style, but rich with meaning and challenging with life application.

I received an advanced copy of Still Waiting in exchange for my honest review.

